How do I get my Driver License before I turn 18?

This is the procedure for getting a Driver’s License before you turn 18:

1. DRIVER EDUCATION CLASS

Complete Driver Education class at Roadrunner Driving School and receive a Driver Education Completion Certificate.   (There is a reissue fee if you lose a certificate.)

 2. LEARNER’S PERMIT 

If you are at least 15 1/2 years old, you may go to the DMV and take the written test. The test is 46 multiple choice questions, and you can miss 8 and still pass. An appointment is not required to take the written test, but if you prefer to have one, call the DMV at 800.777.0133, or schedule online at dmv.ca.gov.

FOR THE DMV WRITTEN TEST, YOU MUST PROVIDE:

  • $32.00 application fee.
  • California Drivers’ License Application Form (DL44). You can get this form at Roadrunner Driving School, or at any DMV office.
  • Birth Certificate or Certified Copy. The DMV will not accept photocopies or hospital issued birth announcements. If you were born in Sonoma County and cannot find your birth certificate, call the County Recorder at 707.565.2645. If you were born in another country, you will need to provide appropriate documentation to show you are a legal resident of the U.S.
  • Social Security Number. The card is not required, just the number written on the DL44.
  • Driver Education Completion Certificate (blue for class room or pink for online)

CALL 546-3238 TO SCHEDULE YOUR FIRST DRIVING LESSON.

State law requires that drivers license applicants under the age of 18 have at least 6 hours of Driver Training with a DMV certified instructor.  (Three 2 hour sessions)

PRACTICE DRIVING BETWEEN LESSONS

You must practice driving between lessons with a California licensed driver over the age of 25 years. This person must be seated next to you, awake and not under the influence of drugs and or alcohol. Practice must include no less than 50 hours of drive time, including 10 hours at night. Keep a written log of your driving hours. Note the date, drive time, and type of driving done, such as, downtown, rural, freeway, rain, fog, night time.

Do not just drive to school and back and in familiar areas over and over again. New drivers need exposure to new situations to help them develop their visual search pattern, timing and judgment, and ability to anticipate other roadway users. Driving takes practice, just like math,sports, music, art or any other skill. The 50 hours practice are crucial for new drivers to develop their ability to drive safely. After your third driving lesson, you will receive a  Driver Training Completion Certificate (gold).  (There is a reissue fee if you lose a certificate.) 

4. DRIVER’S LICENSE

When you have completed six hours of Driver Trainng and at least 50 hours of practice,  have had your permit for at least 6 months and you are at least 16 years old, you are eligible to take the DMV driving test. You may schedule the test up to 45 days prior to the date you want to test.

FOR THE DMV DRIVING TEST YOU MUST PROVIDE:

  • Your Permit – second page signed by instructor and parent/guardian
  • Driver Training Completion Certificate (gold)
  • Proof of Insurance for the car being used for the driving test
  • Current Registration for the car being used for the test
loading